Mick Curtis lifts Past Club Captain’s Trophy

The annual competition for Melton Mowbray’s Past Captain’s Trophy took place on Friday 5th October.  Twenty four past Captains (with ages ranging from 60 to 88) assembled in the clubhouse to ‘meet and greet’ prior to the first tee-time at 12.30pm.

Included in those twenty four were four past Captains of other golf clubs other than Melton Mowbray and therefore not eligible to win the trophy. It was therefore decided to have a competition within the main competition for this group to compete for.

The starter for the day was club Professional, Tony Westwood who sent the players off on time and in threes to begin this singles Stableford competition.  The weather was perfect, the course was in great condition with superb greens (all credit to the Green’s staff) so there were high hopes for good scoring.

The black tie evening celebrations were hosted by Glenn Price, upholding the traditions of ‘passing the port’; and a toast to the Queen.  The winner of the prestigious trophy with 38 points was Mick Curtis with Ray Smith being runner up.  Other winners were:

Closest the pin 7th and 14th  Phil Millward

Over 80s prize  Dave Compton

Over 70s prize  John  Squires

‘Other Club’ Trophy:  Ken Kirk (Hollinwell GC)

Comments are closed